Introduction and Declaration of Principles

It’s now a little past half of the way through February in the year 2012, and I’ve finally decided to start writing again. Honestly, this should have happened a long time ago. I’d like to pretend that tremendously important business was preventing me from getting back into it, but that’s really not the case. Truth be told, I think general laziness played a big role. 2011 was a terrible year for me from just about every angle, and despite some genuinely worthwhile releases in the world of film and music, as well as one transcendent season of Diamondbacks baseball, it was just tough to muster up any kind of enthusiasm for anything. But with 2012 comes a new outlook, a new plan.

There’s a great quote in High Fidelity that sums up my general outlook nicely: “what really matters is what you like, not what you are like. Books, records, films – these things matter. Call me shallow but it’s the fuckin’ truth.” A little extreme, maybe, but in my own life I’ve found that these are the things in which, outside my family, I am most deeply and personally invested. So these are the things that this blog will be all about. Film will be the primary focus, but every now and then I might throw in an album recommendation or a long rant about the sports media’s creepy obsession with Tiger Woods; I’m not really concerned about following any kind of strict format. If possible, I’m going to try to review at least one new film release a week, and I’m sure there will be plenty of posts where I provide Top 10 lists on various subjects. Other than all that, I guess I’ll discover what else I want to write about as things go along. And while I bring a very personal perspective to film, I don’t intend for this to be a place where I write about my personal highs and lows. The paragraph above should be the closest I get in that regard.

I think that’s about all I wanted to say at the moment. The look of the site should be considered a work-in-progress; I like the simple design for now but later on I might change things around a bit. For those who may be reading down the road, I hope my writings won’t be a complete waste of time. And if I start slacking off, call me out on it! In the next day or so should be a review of the new Studio Ghibli film The Secret World of Arrietty, followed by a list of my own personal Academy Award nominations, consisting of what I felt to be the very best of 2011. Until next time.

(picture from If We Don’t, Remember Me)

About Andrew Alan Ramseyer

I am a Phoenix resident and I graduated from Arizona State University in 2011 with a Bachelors degree in Film and Media Studies, and from Northern Arizona University in 2013 with an English Masters degree and an emphasis on Professional Writing. The real world made sure that I would need to continue schooling in other areas, but I still love watching films and writing about films. Maybe someday I'll be able to do something film-related on a professional level, but for now I'm content with writing for myself and for others, who hopefully find my thoughts worthwhile.
This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

